Who, What, When, Where and Why?

#flowers #florist #giftbaskets

I love to talk about flowers & gift baskets! I love posting pictures of our designs and sending them to you for your perusal.

But do you know who we are and when we started doing what we do?  Let’s see…

Pamela E Smith was born in Detroit, MI in 1944. Her dad was born on a street corner (honestly!) and was a policeman for the City of Detroit for almost 30 years! Her mom was a homemaker and a terrific cook. Pamela attended Michigan State Universitymsu logo

(Go, Sparty!) where she received a degree in Floriculture in 1971. She then opened a flower shop in Oak Park, MI, which she sold to move to Phoenix in 1979. That’s where she opened Roadrunner Florist and she’s been here ever since.

I’m Tina Ashburn, a Denver girl, and a Denver Bronco fan!

  bronco logo

I attended Clark College (now part of the University of Washington) in Vancouver, WA, before moving to Tucson where I met and married Richard. We moved to Phoenix in 1984 and I gave birth to my beautiful daughter Lauren in 1985. I’m a grandmother now, to Harper, age 18 months. Photo

In 1992 I purchased Basket Express, and the previous owner introduced me to Pamela, who at the time was the full-time care-giver to her friend Lizzy, who had suffered a serious stroke a short time earlier. Lizzy wanted nothing more than to see the turn of the century, but alas she didn’t survive, and after her death Pamela and I decided it would be a perfect “marriage of 2 businesses” if I brought Basket Express inside Roadrunner Florist. So that’s how we became

Roadrunner Florist Basket Express, Phoenix, AZ

Over the years Pamela has received numerous awards for her designs and creativity, including a long-standing achievement award from the Society of American Florists .SAF logo

I have been honored to have had an article published in The Basket Whiz Report .

We are proud to be a small business working hard to benefit our community including Desert Mission Food Bank and Washington High School. I sing in the choir at North Phoenix Baptist Church and Pamela plays in the band at Phoenix College and the City of Glendale Summer Band.

food bank logo     city of glendale public art program

We strive to provide our customers with the freshest and finest flowers available (more about that later), custom designed gift baskets and terrific customer service.

Today we wished 3 people Happy Birthday! Here are the custom designed arrangements we made for them.

hb aunt elaine man floral hb tele bowl

And we shared in the loss of loved ones with these flowers to soften the sorrow.

funeral for Richard lav & white

We look forward to telling you more about us, including information about The Cold Chain! Stay tuned!

42 thoughts on “Who, What, When, Where and Why?

    • Good morning, and thanks for your comments, Debbie. I, too, believe in a little bit of fate, although I do think we can control it to some extent. The fact that I ended up bringing my business into Roadrunner Florist was a tremendous boost for both of us! And now we live a block apart and we car-pool down to the shop! Gee, maybe I’ll write about that part of our business the next time I do a Who, What, When. Where, Why and How!! Thanks!!

    • Janeane, Thanks so much for the positive feedback! It was fun to discuss with Pamela a little bit of our business history and put it to paper! Now we have to get to work for Valentine’s Day (the orders are already coming in) and take care of all of the love out there!

  1. It’s great to know a little better the person behind the blog so to speak. We recently moved to Colorado Springs and my daughter was born here in Colorado so I guess you can say she’s the Broncos fan. We’re still NYers by heart so we still cheer for the Giants. 🙂

    • Did I tell you I’m a Denver Girl? I was practically born in the stadium! My family has had season tickets since 1973 and my nephew (who has them now) was very upset that he win tickets to the Super Bowl in their lottery!! And, I want to remind you, the Giants are not playing tomorrow, so yes, you should be cheering for the Broncos!!!

Leave a Reply

