Why are our plants different from other plants?

Hmmm, that’s a good question! So I wonder…

1. First of all, there’s Pamela. She has a degree in floriculture from Michigan State University.

msu logo

That means she learned all about soil and fertilizer and light and bugs and disease and a million useful things, which is akin to having a green thumb!

2) Pamela became known as “The Plant Doctor” when she opened her first flower shop in Oak Park, MI, following graduation from MSU in 1971.

the plant doctpr

3) Then there’s selection. Pamela has learned which green plants will survive in the desert and which ones won’t and we don’t sell anything from the second option.

peace & forcythiaplant and pinkbirthday pothos

4) The Plant Doctor says, Don’t let their feet sit in water. The #1 reason plants die, their leaves turn yellow brown or black and they fall off is TOO MUCH WATER. If the plant is heavy or the soil on the top is damp, No Water.

watering your plant

5) How to water your plant? That’s easy. Water it. Drain it. Put it back in the basket or pot.

6) Treatment. I, Tina, like to tell people to treat their plants (and flowers) as they treat their children. If it’s too hot for your child, it’s too hot for your plant. Bring ’em in, people!

dracaena for susansuper planterpothos orchids tulips

7) Local. We are your local flower shop. That means you can depend on us to design and deliver the perfect plant for the occasion, whether it’s a birthday celebration, a get well, or an expression of condolence. Count on us at Roadrunner Florist Basket Express!

86 thoughts on “Why are our plants different from other plants?

    • Yes. It doesn’t make sense to sell plants that don’t have a chance of survival. People in humid climates want what grows there, and we can’t help them. We have decided it’s more important to the local people to have a plant that has at least a chance of survival!

  1. Wow, a lot of great information! I definitely have a problem with over watering and this is something I will have to work on! Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

  2. Great post and great tips. I joke that the only live plant I should ever own is a cactus! Hehe. But I sure envy the folks (like you) who can get plants to flourish. They are beautiful. Thank you for sharing this information.

  3. Great tips on flowers! I leave the watering and caring for my plants to my mom since mine always end in disaster. 🙂

    • I would suggest you contact a local florist or greenhouse and ask what’s great for your area (that eliminates the Big Box Stores since they purchase for the entire country regardless of area). Then try one at a time! Talk to your plant, Sing to it. Water it once a week. See what happens!

  4. I would love to think I have a green thumb but honestly I think I am just lucky or I pick plants that are super hardy to begin with. We received a plan the year we got married and it`s still hardy after almost 13 years!

  5. Love this blog. Sometimes I buy plants as gifts and hope the receiver knows how to take care. My hubby always overwatered and I recntly took task on. Since I get super busy, I tend to underwater. Setting myself an every Sunday schedule and that should cover it. Nicely presented Tina.

  6. Thanks for the tips! I can understand why you would definitely have a green thumb! I know that unless most things interact right back with me, I probably wouldn’t pay much attention. I definitely do not have a green thumb though I do like plants.

    • Lexi, it’s all in how you look at things! Our plants do interact back with me! I talk to them and sing to them! (no, I’m not hearing voices so I guess they don’t talk back!). But I do understand your desire for instant gratification, and plants need time and care.

  7. I will be coming to Arizona in a month or so to visit my family. I hope that I can borrow a car and drop in to say Hello! I love your customer service an that you can always be trusted to deliver the very best quality 🙂

  8. I’m quilty of over watering a couple of my plants :S I really don’t have much of a green thumb. Thanks for sharing great tips.

    • Brett, would you believe those yellow flowers are silk? They’re the only way we can keep them “blooming” in the desert! Once spring hits Connecticut, you’ll have beautiful flowers all over! That’s something we don’t get to enjoy!

    • Thanks, Nicole. This has gotten us into “trouble” a few times because people just don’t understand that we don’t sell what won’t last. (I even had one lady who lives here be very upset when she discovered the flowers in the beautiful plant were silk and I lost her as a long-time customer because of it). But most people understand the needs of the desert. Thanks for understanding.

  9. I’m a Master Gardener so really appreciate that Pamela is putting viable plants out into the community. Nothing discourages people more than “killing a plant” (in their eyes) … especially when they don’t know that they bought a plant that didn’t have a snowball’s chance of surviving in the local climate. Brava to you both!

  10. I can tell your business has the utmost integrity. You only use healthy plants in your arrangements and in the case of live, in soil plants, you only use plants good for your area. These points are very important to me as a consumer. It can be very discouraging to receive plants that start dying the next day. On the other hand, I’ve had plants and/or flowers that last a long time when I properly take care of them. I always appreciate receiving a care tag with the flowers I receive.

Leave a Reply

